• 11°C
    Stockholm
    Sweden
    Wed
    17°C
    Thu
    19°C
    Fri
    16°C
  • Skokloster castle

    Skokloster Castle towers over Lake Melaren ten kilometers to the north-west of Sigtuna. The Castle is one of the most remarkable sights of the Swedish Royalty. It was built by the order of a Field-Marshal Carl Gustaf Wrangel. As a military commander and the participant of the Thirty Years’ War he was generously awarded by the King.
    A white quadrangular building with four towers in the corners with baroque superstructures and the inner yard has an indubitable resemblance to his Spyker Castle located on the knight’s island of Rugen in Stockholm, where he died in 1676. Spyker Castle had been built in 1652 – 1670 by Nicodemus Tessin the Elder and was burnt down in 1802.
    The Castle of Skokloster was being built throughout fifteen years since 1653 to 1668 by the architects Nicodemus Tessin the Elder and Caspar Vogel.
    The interiors of the castle had been ready by 1779.
    The superb modelling of ceilings, parquet-flooring, woodcarving, tapestry, pictures, furniture, books e. t. c. have especially well preserved to our times.
    The largest world collection of military weapons, gathered as the military trophies captured by Carl Gustaf Wrangel during the Thirty Years’ War has been preserved in the Castle. Polish pistols, Turkish yataghans, crossbows, armour, daggers, a royal shield with the gold incisions from Prague seized at the end of the Thirty Years’ War, and many other unique objects have been hang out and put in the Armoury room in such a way as it had been done by Wrangel himself. Many antiquarian rarities got into Skokloster from the castles of Danish nobility located on the islands of Fyn and Shelland, after the winter campaign of 1657 – 1658, when Carl X Gustaf’s cavalry had crossed the frozen channels of Store and Little Belts.
    To the right of Skokloster there is the 13th century church of the nunnery, where Wrangel’s military trophies have also been preserved. A font basin, a pulpit and sculptures were brought from Polish Oliva monastery in 1656.
    Carl Gustaf Wrangel built Skokloster Castle as a memorial to his family. But only three daughters of his fifteen children survived. After the marriage of the eldest daughter Margareta Juliana Wrangel the Castle passed to the Brahe family another old Swedish clan of nobility. In 1930 the last representative of the Brahe family died and Rutger von Essen became the owner of the Castle.
    In 1967 he sold the Castle and its contents (over 20 000 objects of antiques and about 30 000 books) to the Swedish government. In the same year the Castle was opened for visitors.
    In 1970-ies the Castle was renovated under the supervision of Ove Hidemark. Nowdays it is run as a museum of Skokloster and opened for visitors. The Castle is surrounded with a gorgeous park.

• 2°C
    Stockholm
    Sweden
    Ср
    9°C
    Чт
    8°C
    Пт
    7°C
  • Замок Скуклостер

    В десяти километрах на северо — запад от города Сигтуна, на озере Меларен, высится замок Скуклостер, являющий собой один из самых примечательных памятников Шведского великодержавия. Его велел построить Фельдмаршал Карл Густав Врангель (Carl Gustof Wrangel), щедро награжденный королем полководец и участник Тридцатилетней войны.

    Белое четырехугольное здание с четырьмя башнями по углам с барочными надстройками и внутренним двором имеет несомненное сходство с его же замком Спюкер на острове рыцарском острове (Рюген) в Стокгольме, где он скончался в 1676 г. Замок Спюкер был построен в 1652 — 1670 годах Никодемусом Тессином Старшим и полностью сгорел в 1802 году.

    Замок Скуклостер строился пятнадцать лет, с 1653 по 1668 года архитекторами Никодемусом Тессином Старшим (Nicodemus Tessin the Elder) и Каспаром Вогелем (Caspar Vogel). Интерьеры замка были готовы к 1770 году. Лепнина потолков, паркетные полы, резьба по дереву, гобелены, картины, мебель, книги и многое другое прекрасно сохранились до наших дней.

    В замке храниться огромная коллекция разнообразного оружия, собранная из военных трофеев, захваченных Карлом Густавом Врангелем в ходе Тридцатилетней войны. Польские пистолеты, турецкие ятаганы, арбалеты, доспехи, кинжалы, королевский щит с золотыми насечками из Праги (был захвачен в конце Тридцатилетней войны) и много других уникальных предметов развешаны и расставлены в Оружейной комнате так, как это делал сам Врангель. Многие антикварные редкости попали в Скоклостер из Датских дворянских замков с островов Фюн и Шелланд после зимнего похода 1657 — 1658 годов, когда конница Карла X Густава по льду перешла проливы Большой и Малый Бельт.

    В церкви женского монастыря, построенной в XIII веке и находящейся справа от Скуклостера, также имеются военные трофеи Карла Густава Врангеля. Купель, кафедра проповедника и скульптуры были привезены из польского монастыря Олива в 1656 году.

    Карл Густав Врангель строил Скуклостер как памятник своему роду. Но из его пятнадцати детей выжили только три дочери. После замужества старшей из них, Маргареты Юлианы Врангель замок перешел к другому старинному Шведскому роду Браэ. В 1930 году скончался последний из рода Браэ и владельцем замка стал Рутгер фон Эссен.

    В 1967 году он продал замок Скуклостер вместе со всеми коллекциями (около 20 000 предметов антиквариата и около 30 000 книг) государству. Также в 1967 году замок был открыт для посетителей.

    В 1970х годах замок был отреставрирован под руководством Ове Хидемарка (Ove Hidemark), и сегодня замок — музей Скуклостер открыт для посетителей. Также стоит отметить парк, который был разбит вокруг замка при его основании.

    Продолжительность: 4 часа